Interactive Bar

Google Services





Log In

Graveney Primary School

‘Learning and Achieving Together’




PSHE is at the core of what we do here at Graveney Primary School.  All staff focus on enabling our children to become independent, confident, healthy and responsible members of society, as well as developing the “whole child” intellectually, morally, socially and spiritually.


Through our whole-school approach to PSHE, it is our belief that excellence in these areas will lead to excellence across the curriculum and beyond in later life. Our PSHE curriculum equips children with relevant and meaningful content, which is supported through a strong emphasis on emotional literacy, building resilience and nurturing mental and physical health. With an ever changing society, we are able to provide our children with a strong understanding of the diverse world around them and support them in playing a positive role in contributing to the school and the wider community.



Here at Graveney we use Jigsaw PSHE this is a comprehensive and completely original Scheme of Work (lesson plans) for the whole primary school. The Jigsaw teaching materials integrate Personal, Social, Health Education (PSHE), emotional literacy, social skills, mindfulness, and spiritual development in a whole-school approach. The expectations of the DfE Relationships and Health Education guidance are woven throughout Jigsaw but specifically covered in the Relationships and Healthy Me Puzzles (units), with puberty and human reproduction being taught in the Changing Me Puzzle.


The Jigsaw PSHE lessons aim to give children their entitlement to information about relationships, puberty and human reproduction, appropriate to their ages and stages of development. This work is treated in a matter-of-fact and sensitive manner and helps children to cope with change, including puberty, and to learn about healthy relationships.


There are six Puzzles (units):

  1. Being me in My World
  2. Celebrating Difference
  3. Dreams and Goals
  4. Healthy Me
  5. Relationships
  6. Changing Me

Each unit has six lessons, these are taught across each term.


These are sequenced from the beginning to the end of the school year. The Relationships and Changing Me Puzzles are taught in the Summer Term.


To work alongside our two year curriculum with Graveney we teach these units as alternative year groups Year A - Age 3-4 (Ladybirds), Age 5-6 (Bumblebees), Age 7-8 (Dragonflies), Age 9-10 (Scorpions)

Year B - Age 3-4 (Ladybirds, Age 6-7 (Bumblebees), Age 8-9 (Dragonflies), Age 10-11 (Scorpions)


All units are linked with whole school assemblies also focusing on these themes. 



What will this look like?

By the time children leave our school they will:


For all children to have a ready willingness and ability to try new things, push themselves and persevere. To have a good understanding of how to stay safe, healthy and develop good relationships. To have an appreciation of what it means to be a positive member of a diverse, multicultural society. To have a strong self-awareness, interlinked with compassion of others.

Due to the restrictions for publishing the materials we use for our PSHE curriuclum we are unable to share the materials they provide on our website.


If you would like to know more about this curriculum please speak with your child's class teacher who will be happy to share their plans and the objectives your child will be learning over the next term or year.


A parent portal for Jigsaw is currently being developed which we hope to share with you shortly.